ARC Review: Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

13597757Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Mental Illness
Release Date:  September 2nd 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Check out on GOODREADS

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.

Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together… which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.

It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn’t sure she’s brave enough to let herself fall.

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who’s fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her.

review

Reading this book felt like walking on glass. Any wrong move could make the glass shatter–any little thing can make me completely love or hate the book. Until this moment of writing this review, I could suddenly realize little things and lower or raise my rating. This book’s a fragile read for me, if you can call it that.

One positive thing about the book was the theatrical aspect. I loved all the theater-talk and scenes related to the characters’ roles in their school play, and all the those things. I myself want to try out theater some day (in fact I plan to join our drama club next year), so I really enjoyed these scenes from the book.

Another thing I liked was the realistic involvement of parents in the novel. Caddie’s parents were practically oblivious to her situation, since they were caught up in their own problems. Both also had ambitions they wanted to fulfill, hence their short attention span. Caddie also had a little brother who, at first, was kind of cold to her but ended up being really supportive. He reminds me of my own brother.

Each character also had a distinct personality, although it’s sad to say that I was more invested in the minor characters’ stories than in the main characters’. Caddie and Peter weren’t bad characters, but I guess the elegant writing made me feel uninterested in them. There was also the problem that I don’t know what it feels like to have OCD, so sometimes Caddie was creeping me out.

Caddie had a great group of friends who I just loved. They were there for her when she needed them, but they also got into fights like real friends would. They also had a great passion for acting, which I wish more people in the world had as well. Olivia was especially endearing.

The romance was okay. Sometimes I just wanted Caddie and Peter to just KISS ALREADY, and sometimes I wanted to tear my eyeballs out since I was getting annoyed and/or frustrated with how hot-and-cold the two of them were. But overall, I liked Peter as an individual. He made decisions for himself and was a really good friend to Caddie.

Overall, Don’t Touch might appeal to fans of Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern (which I enjoyed), or even Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (which I thought was fine). It was a heavy read made lighter by the adorable side characters and very friendly love interest.

Rating Report
Plot
Characters
Writing
Pacing
Romance
Impact
Overall: 2.9
The following two tabs change content below.
Aimee
Aimee is a sixteen year old bookworm from the Phillipines! She reads any book that catches her attention, but she mostly reads YA. She's into graphic design, writing and sleeping. You can find her at Deadly Darlings, The Book Geek, Goodreads and on Twitter.
Aimee

Latest posts by Aimee (see all)

Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    CommentLuv badge

  1. says

    The cover and the blurb really sparks my interest, but sad to hear you didn’t enjoy it very much, Aimee! OCD is a really delicate issue and I hope the author manages it carefully in this book. The theatrical part makes me very excited though! I love books with theater and plays in it. :)

    Wonderful review! I hope you’re reading something you like more right now! :)
    Hilda @ Catch the Lune recently posted…Review and Giveaway: Made for You by Melissa MarrMy Profile

  2. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says

    I’ll be honest, my heart shattered a little when I saw the rating as I LOVED this book but when I actually read your review, I can see where you are coming from. It’s definitely a book not everyone will love and yeah, Caddie got a little creepy at times but I think it was dealt with pretty well. So glad that you love the minor characters though! They were a great highlight.

    Lovely review, Aimee! <33

  3. says

    Oh no. I’m sorry this such a disappoint. I had the same problem with my recnet review of No Place to Fall. The more I talked and wrote my review the more my rating lowed which is a real shame. I’m really not sure if this is for me now. I was going to read in the next week or two… I’ll see what I feel like. Thank for an honest review, Aimee.
    Emma @ Never Judge a Book recently posted…ARC REVIEW – NO PLACE TO FALL by Jaye Robin BrownMy Profile

  4. says

    I’m actually reading this one at the moment and I’m really enjoying it so far Aimee! You know how much of a theatre nerd I am, so seeing you mention that there are a lot of theatrical aspects in this book makes me SO excited! :D And even though I’m not very far in, I am already loving Caddie’s friends. They are so supportive and wonderful! It’s a shame that you were a bit more drawn into the supporting characters than the main ones, but I suppose I can see where you’re coming from.

    Thanks for sharing Aimee and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3
    Zoe @ The Infinite To-Read Shelf recently posted…Vault of DreamersMy Profile

  5. says

    I really didn’t like this book, which is a shame because it was one I definitely was looking forward to. :( I didn’t sympathize with the MC at all, and the romance was very bland (which, you all know me, I ship everything haha). Oh well. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Aimee!
    Danielle @ Love at First Page recently posted…The TBR TagMy Profile

  6. says

    LOL So funny as we usually have to deal with insta love but this dragging doesn’t sound that appealing to me either. xD We are really hard to please. But yeah I do like the sound of this one, despite the issues. I mean elegant writing and the theatrical aspect seem really good. Great haul, Aimee :)
    Tanja recently posted…The Sunday Post (#26)My Profile

  7. says

    At first i had been so interested in this one since it seemed right u my alley but I haven’t heard the best things about this book. When your more interested in the side characters stories than the main characters, you know you have a problem :/
    Hopefully your next read is more enjoyable!
    lily recently posted…Trial By Fire (Worldwalker #1):ReviewMy Profile

  8. says

    The theater element of this sounds really wonderful, and I would love to read something that had something like that (anything that a character is endlessly passionate about gets me excited, because sometimes I can feel their passion too, so clearly!) sometime soon, but the rest of the novel sounds like it’s not something I would enjoy so much as have little issues with. Like the way you describe the romance: the hot cold for no particular reason just the fact the day/hour has changed is not something I particularly get/enjoy. I wish you could’ve ended up liking it more than disliking, but I’m glad it made you want to persue your own theater experiences maybe a little more! I hope that goes really well for you, Aimee!
    Romi recently posted…The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski…My Profile

  9. says

    I really enjoyed the description that you used about the walking on glass. I’ve definitely felt that way about stories too. It’s understandable, some books you initially read and enjoy. However on closer inspection, you notice little thing that annoy you. If you keep on looking sometimes you can find more and more, and learn that perhaps your initial reaction wasn’t accurate.

    Still there seems to be a lot more positive reactions from you on this book though. The theater aspect, familial relationships (my brothers sound like yours and the ones in the books also), the minor characters and romance at times. Hot & cold relationships can annoy me though, sometimes I just want to be like “okay. Do you like or hate him!?!” Haha c:

    Lovely review girl! :)
    Larissa recently posted…Review: Chasing Power by Sarah Beth DurstMy Profile

  10. says

    This doesn’t sound too bad, if not a little on the generic side. I have numerical OCD. I don’t like odd numbers, or anything out of order. I can’t buy three of something, it has to be either 2 or 4. I’m creepy like that. LOL. Relationships that blow hot and cold just don’t seem genuine to me, at all. In the beginning, you’re in that honeymoon phase where everything is supposed to be perfect and wonderful (before you realise that they’re actually mortal after all), so if they can’t get that right, I can see much hope for them. I’m sorry you couldn’t enjoy this one more poppet, lovely review <3
    Kelly recently posted…The Lightning Thief by Rick RiordanMy Profile

Trackbacks