[Blog Tour]: Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinksi

Nightfall-blogtour

The Social Potato welcomes you to the world of Nightfall, where dark things come crawling out once night falls…

Today, the authors of this fantastically imagined book are here to talk about their biggest inspirations and how they contributed to the book.

Peter Kujawinski

My biggest inspiration as a writer is being a reader.  Growing up, only books could transport me to the future, the past, under the ocean, and into wilderness.  We’re hardwired as humans to need stories as a way to explain our lives, and our existence on this earth.  I read ferociously as a kid – sometimes three or four Hardy Boy books on a Sunday morning, sometimes a pile of comic books several inches thick.  When I was in second or third grade, I remember asking my parents if there was a job out there where all I had to do was read books for a living.  Writing is the closest equivalent!

Most of us have a need to communicate with people around us.  In high school, I remember some classmates being really good at speaking on the fly – either in class, or just with friends.  It got me so annoyed.  They always had the right response, and it’s no surprise that some of these people are now lawyers!  I often wished that we could restrict all communication to just writing notes to one another.  I figured I’d have an advantage that way.  Reading, being at ease with writing – these were the pieces of me wanting to be a writer.

I love to read fast-paced books that immediately transport me into a different place.  Whether it be the science fiction of Isaac Asimov or the pre-World War II novels of Alan Furst, the books that grab me tend to be deeply immersive from the first page.  I tried to do the same with Nightfall.  Jake and I tried to make it the type of read that after several hours, you look up from the book and are a little jetlagged – from participating in all the excitement you just read!

Jake Halpern

For me inspiration almost always comes from travel.  And I don’t have to travel far, but the act of going somewhere new – and being forced to process a new experience – is almost always where I find my inspiration.  Here’s an example…  When I was a freshman at college, my girlfriend (Sarah) and I decided to explore the upper floors of an old at dormitory at Yale that looked like a towering, darkened, gothic monstrosity – a kind of Frankenstein’s castle.  For whatever reason, the upper floors of this dormitory were uninhabited and were supposed to be locked and sealed off.  I had gotten a tip from a friend that there was a way to sneak up onto these floors by using a little-known spiral staircase.  So Sarah and I checked it out.  Sure enough, we found the spiral staircase, and we made it up onto this completely abandoned floor just beneath the roof.  There were no windows and it was so dark that I, literally, could not see my hand in front of my face.  We soon got lost – so lost that we couldn’t find our way out and we ended up sitting down and talking, in the complete darkness, for about three hours.  We imagined what would happen if we were stuck there, forever, in the dark.  Finally, we crawled our way around, and managed – by sheer luck – to find a hallway that led us back to the staircase.  I still think about that little misadventure.  I didn’t have to travel very far, but that experience – in complete darkness – was part of the inspiration for NIGHTFALL.

Thanks so much for stopping by, guys! 

[Blog Tour]: Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinksi

Nightfall
by Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski

Genres: Horror, Survival, Young Adult
Publication date: September 22nd, 2015
by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

Format: ARC

PURCHASE:

Amazon | Book Depository
Goodreads

The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light, in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours—it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling—bizarre, even—but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line’s gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

Now that you’ve gotten to know a little more about what inspired the book, I thought I’d give you a bunch of reasons to read the book!

1. Original. This premise of this book is unlike anything I have encountered before. Can you imagine the idea of a world where the sun rises every 28 years? Can you imagine all the details that would need to be put in to the book make that seem plausible? Well Jake and Peter pull it off because they made this world come to life. It was interesting and original and sucked me right in.

2. Survival aspects of the story. Do you love a good survival story? You’ve come to the right place. This book might not terrify you but it will (hopefully) have you rooting for the characters and hoping that they will beat the odds and make it to safety and back to their families.

3. Romance takes a back seat. I love my romances but there are some situations where I think romances are unnecessary. In this book the romance was barely hinted at. It’s not that there aren’t feelings. It’s just that a lot of the romance stuff was established before the book started so this book is mostly about these characters trying to work out a way to survive instead of you know… make out?

4. The Characters. I was a little put off by the idea of 14 year olds for main characters and the fact that they didn’t really seem like they were 14 but overall, I liked them. They may not have been perfect and sometimes make some not so smart decisions but I think the way they worked together was amazing. There were *some* secrets but they are understandable.

5. The Creepy. Isn’t that what we are really here for? The Creepy. The Scary. I will say that Nightfall is not the scariest book I’ve read of late but there were some downright creepy bits. After all, when you find out your deserted island isn’t as deserted as you thought it was and is inhabited by an entirely other species that kill your kind, there are bound to be some terrifying moments.

This book isn’t perfect but I still think it makes for a fantastic Halloween read. If you want something original and creepy, I’d definitely recommend this. Nightfall will draw you into it’s world and will leave you wanting more (in a good way) once you’re done!

Follow along with the rest of the tour for giveways, interviews and other awesome shenanigans!

Two Chicks on Books – 14th September (Interview)
Steph In Wonderland –  15th September (Would You Rather?)
Forever Young Adult – 17th September (Guest Post)
The Starry-Eyed Revue – 18th September (Top 10 List)
The Social Potato – 21st September (Guest Post) 
Once Upon a Twilight –  22nd September (Book Playlist #1)
The Passionate Bookworms – 23rd September (25 Random Things)
Lili’s Reflections – 24th September (Interview)
The Young Folks – 25th September (Review & Giveaway)
Readers in Wonderland – 28th September (Book Playlist #2)
The Book Cellar – 29th September (Interview)
The Book Smugglers –  30th September (Review)
Winterhaven Books – 1st October (Interview)
A Reader Under the Sea – 2nd October(Review & Giveaway)

Giveaway Time!

Penguin Teen is giving away a hardcover of Nightfall to one lucky winner! This giveaway is (sadly) open to US residents only. Head over to Twitter for an international giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The following two tabs change content below.

Rashika

Rashika is a mysterious creature who likes to hide in the shadows. It's impossible to get to know her but if you must know, she is a huge bookworm. She also happens to have a huge sweet tooth so you can always lure her over the dark side by offering her something sweet (or bribing her with books).

Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    CommentLuv badge

  1. says

    This book sounds creepy and original indeed! I liked reading where the authors got their inspiration from and I think reading and traveling are both great sources of inspiration. I don’t travel far, but even walking around our neighbourhood it can be fun to explore new areas. While I love romance in books I also think that some book it fits better without it or with little of it. I am not a fan of the make-out scenes when they are running for their life type of scenes, so I am glad this book has none of that. Great post!
    Lola recently posted…Review: Star Wars The Clone WarsMy Profile

  2. says

    I am soooooooo ready to read this! I’m the biggest horror/thriller fan, so of course I’ll be picking this up. I love reading creepy reads around this time where it gets nice and chilly, right in time for Halloween! I actually had no clue what the book was even about until I read your review. I have a weird habit of just looking at a book and knowing that I want to pick it up lol. But I definitely agree that this sounds so original. The sun rising every 28 years, can you imagine be engulfed in darkness all the time?!! I need this now!
    Tika recently posted…Dream Things True DNF Review — TBBA Termination LetterMy Profile